Home Studio Setup by Ben HarrisWhether you have a ton of equipment or just the basic gear this book offers an all you need to know to setting up, running and getting great sound from a project studio. In three parts Harris walks you thought Acoustics, Equipment and Recording Technique. From the basics of acoustic treatment to techniques to solve problems specific to your room, and from offering explanations and information of equipment to how to record and create a great mix. In no time you'll be recording, producing great music in your very own studio.
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Gender in Music Production by Russ Hepworth-Sawyer (Editor); Jay Hodgson (Editor); Liesl King (Editor); Mark Marrington (Editor)The field of music production has for many years been regarded as male-dominated. Despite growing acknowledgement of this fact, and some evidence of diversification, it is clear that gender representation on the whole remains quite unbalanced. Gender in Music Production brings together industry leaders, practitioners, and academics to present and analyze the situation of gender within the wider context of music production as well as to propose potential directions for the future of the field. This much-anticipated volume explores a wide range of topics, covering historical and contextual perspectives on women in the industry, interviews, case studies, individual position pieces, as well as informed analysis of current challenges and opportunities for change. Ground-breaking in its synthesis of perspectives, Gender in Music Production offers a broadly considered and thought-provoking resource for professionals, students, and researchers working in the field of music production today.
Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Dance Music Manual, 4th ed. by Rick SnomanDance Music Manual,aimed at the novice and seasoned professional alike, takes the reader through the software and hardware needed to create original, captivating, and professional sounding music. Key features of Dance Music Manualinclude: How to create compelling, professional-sounding original or remixed dance tracks. The differences between different genres and how to produce them. How to expose your tracks to their chosen audience and equip you with the skills to develop your career as a dance music producer and engineer. Along with the book is a companion website, which provides examples of synthesis programming, compression, effects, MIDI files, and examples of the tracks discussed in this edition. The new and improved fourth edition covers processes and techniques used by music producers, masters, mixers, and DJs. Each page is full of facts presented in a manner that is easy to absorb and implement.
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Women in Audio by Leslie Gaston-BirdWomen in Audio features almost 100 profiles and stories of audio engineers who are women and have achieved success throughout the history of the trade. Beginning with a historical view, the book covers the achievements of women in various audio professions and then focuses on organizations that support and train women and girls in the industry. What follows are eight chapters divided by discipline, highlighting accomplished women in various audio fields: radio; sound for film and television; music recording and electronic music; hardware and software design; acoustics; live sound and sound for theater; education; audio for games, virtual reality, augmented reality, and mixed reality, as well as immersive sound. Women in Audio is a valuable resource for professionals, educators, and students looking to gain insight into the careers of trailblazing women in audio-related fields and represents required reading for those looking to add diversity to their music technology programs.
Publication Date: 2019-12-06
Mic It!, 2nd ed. by Ian CorbettCapture great sound in the first place and spend less time "fixing it in the mix" with Ian Corbett's Mic It! With this updated and expanded second edition, you'll quickly understand essential audio concepts as they relate to microphones and mic techniques and learn how to apply them to your recording situation. Mic It! gives you the background to explore, discover, and design your own solutions, enabling you to record great source tracks that can be developed into anything from ultra-clean mixes to massive, organic soundscapes. Beginning with essential audio theory and a discussion of the desirable characteristics of "good sound", Mic It! covers microphones, mono and stereo mic techniques, the effect of the recording space or room, and large classical and jazz ensemble recording. This second edition also features new chapters on immersive audio, immersive recording concepts, drum tuning, and recording techniques for audio for video. Mic It! provides in-depth information on how different mic techniques can be used, modified, and fine-tuned to capture not only the best sound, but the best sound for the mix, as well as how to approach and set up the recording session, prepare for mixing, and avoid common recording and mixing mistakes. * Train your ears with practical audio examples on the companion website. * Develop and test your knowledge as you learn, with concise, applicable exercises and examples that cover the concepts presented. * Record the best sound possible in any situation with Mic It! Corbett's expert advice ranges from vital knowledge no novice should be without, to advanced techniques that more experienced engineers can explore to benefit and vary the sound of their recordings. Whether you only ever buy one microphone, are equipping a studio on a budget, or have a vast selection of great mics to use, with Mic It! you'll learn how to make the most of the tools you have.
Publication Date: 2020-12-29
Recording Studio Design, 4th ed. by Philip NewellRecording Studio Design, Fourth Edition explains the key principles of successful studio design and construction using straightforward language and the use of practical examples appreciated by readers of previous editions. Updated to reflect new industry standards, this fourth edition addresses improvements in cinema sound, with specific attention paid to B-chain electroacoustic response and calibration. Using over 50 years' experience, author Philip Newell provides detail on the practical aspects of recording in various environments, not only exploring the complex issues relating to the acoustics but also providing real-world solutions. While the book contains detailed discussions about performing rooms, control rooms, and mobile studios, concepts of the infrastructures are also discussed, because no studio can perform optimally unless the technical and human requirements are adequately provided for. In this new edition, sound for cinema provides a platform for highlighting many, wider electroacoustic topics in a way that is relatively easy to visualise. The way in which sound and vision interact is an important aspect of many modern multimedia formats. The new edition includes: A new Chapter 22 that will thoroughly reflect recently published SMPTE investigations which will drastically impact standards for cinema sound; The inclusion of new academic research and its practical applications; An entire new illustrated chapter on room construction principles; and The consolidation of ideas which were only emerging when the earlier editions were published.
Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Recording Analysis: How the Record Shapes the Song by William MoylanRecording Analysis: How the Record Shapes the Song identifies and explains how the sounds imparted by recording processes enhance the artistry and expression of recorded songs. Moylan investigates how the process of recording a song transforms it into a richer experience and articulates how the unique elements of recorded sound provide essential substance and expression to recorded music. This book explores a broad array of records, evaluating the music, lyrics, social context, literary content and meaning, and offers detailed analyses of recording elements as they appear in a wide variety of tracks. Accompanied by a range of online resources, Recording Analysis is an essential read for students and academics, as well as practitioners, in the fields of record production, song-writing and popular music.
Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio, 2nd ed. by Mike SeniorDiscover how to achieve release-quality mixes even in the smallest studios by applying power-user techniques from the world's most successful producers. Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio is the best-selling primer for small-studio enthusiasts who want chart-ready sonics in a hurry. Drawing on the back-room strategies of more than 160 famous names, this entertaining and down-to-earth guide leads you step-by-step through the entire mixing process. On the way, you'll unravel the mysteries of every type of mix processing, from simple EQ and compression through to advanced spectral dynamics and "fairy dust" effects. User-friendly explanations introduce technical concepts on a strictly need-to-know basis, while chapter summaries and assignments are perfect for school and college use. ▪ Learn the subtle editing, arrangement, and monitoring tactics which give industry insiders their competitive edge, and master the psychological tricks which protect you from all the biggest rookie mistakes. ▪ Find out where you don't need to spend money, as well as how to make a limited budget really count. ▪ Pick up tricks and tips from leading-edge engineers working on today's multi-platinum hits, including Derek "MixedByAli" Ali, Michael Brauer, Dylan "3D" Dresdow, Tom Elmhirst, Serban Ghenea, Jacquire King, the Lord-Alge brothers, Tony Maserati, Manny Marroquin, Noah "50" Shebib, Mark "Spike" Stent, DJ Swivel, Phil Tan, Andy Wallace, Young Guru, and many, many more... Now extensively expanded and updated, including new sections on mix-buss processing, mastering, and the latest advances in plug-in technology.
Publication Date: 2018-08-16
The Art of Record Production, Volume 2: Creative Practice in the Studio by Katia Isakoff (Editor); Serge Lacasse (Editor); Sophie Stévance (Editor)The playback of recordings is the primary means of experiencing music in contemporary society, and in recent years 'classical' musicologists and popular music theorists have begun to examine the ways in which the production of recordings affects not just the sound of the final product but also musical aesthetics more generally. Record production can, indeed, be treated as part of the creative process of composition. At the same time, training in the use of these forms of technology has moved from an apprentice-based system into university education. Musical education and music research are thus intersecting to produce a new academic field: the history and analysis of the production of recorded music. This book is designed as a general introductory reader, a text book for undergraduate degree courses studying the creative processes involved in the production of recorded music. The aim is to introduce students to the variety of approaches and methodologies that are currently being employed by scholars in this field. The book is divided into three sections covering the creative use of technology, the social interactions of production activity and forms of theoretical analysis. This collection gives students and scholars a broad overview of the way in which academics from the analytical and practice-based areas of the university system can be brought together with industry professionals to explore the ways in which this new academic field should progress.
Publication Date: 2019-07-08
Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, 5th ed. by Jamie Angus; David M. HowardThe acoustics of a space can have a real impact on the sounds you create and capture. Acoustics and Psychoacoustics, Fifth Edition provides supportive tools and exercises to help you understand how music sounds and behaves in different spaces, whether during a performance or a recording, when planning a control room or listening space, and how it is perceived by performers, listeners, and recording engineers. With their clear and simple style, Howard and Angus cover both theory and practice by addressing the science of sound engineering and music production, the acoustics of musical instruments, the ways in which we hear musical sounds, the underlying principles of sound processing, and the application of these concepts to music spaces to create professional sound. This new edition is fully revised to reflect new psychoacoustic information related to timbre and temporal perception, including an updated discussion of vocal fold vibration principles, samples of recent acoustic treatments, and a description of variable acoustics in spaces, as well as coverage of the environment's effect on production listening, sonification, and other topics. Devoted to the teaching of musical understanding, an accompanying website (www.routledge.com/cw/howard) features various audio clips, tutorial sheets, questions and answers, and trainings that will take your perception of sound to the next level. This book will help you: Gain a basic grounding in acoustics and psychoacoustics with respect to music audio technology systems Incorporate knowledge of psychoacoustics in future music technology system designs as appropriate Understand how we hear pitch, loudness, and timbre Learn to influence the acoustics of an enclosed space through designed physical modifications
Publication Date: 2017-06-12
The Mixing Engineer's Handbook, 4th ed. by Bobby OwsinskiMixing music--the process of combining and shaping the component parts of a song into a polished, completed recording--was once considered an unteachable art. The first edition of Bobby Owsinski's The Mixing Engineer's Handbook destroyed that myth forever, breaking the craft of mixing down into discrete, understandable steps and showing musicians, audio engineers, and producers exactly how to get great results in the studio. The book has since become the go-to text on mixing for recording programs in colleges and universities around the world. Now available in a completely revised fourth edition, The Mixing Engineer's Handbook remains the best, most up-to-date source for mastering the art and science of creating pro-quality mixes Among the many topics covered in the book include: The six main elements of a mix that every engineer must know The secrets of equalization and the "magic frequencies" that make vocals and instruments come to life The rules of arrangement and how they impact your mix in a big way Advanced techniques expected of today's mixer, like track cleanup, adjusting track timing, pitch correction, sound replacement, and automation tricks Tips and tricks for adding effects, sonic layering, calculating delay, and much more The book also features interviews with 25 of the music industry's most successful and celebrated engineers, who share their expertise, insights, and philosophies about mixing the many hits they've worked on. Learn the art of mixing from start to finish, and pick up tips and techniques from the pros, with The Mixing Engineer's Handbook, Fourth Edition.
Publication Date: 2017-01-07
Acoustic and MIDI Orchestration for the Contemporary Composer, 2nd ed. by Andrea Pejrolo; Richard DeRosaAcoustic and MIDI Orchestration for the Contemporary Composer, Second Edition provides effective explanations and illustrations to teach you how to integrate traditional approaches to orchestration with the use of the modern sequencing techniques and tools available to today's composer. By covering both approaches, Pejrolo and DeRosa offer a comprehensive and multifaceted learning experience that will develop your orchestration and sequencing skills and enhance your final productions. A leading manual on its subject, the second edition allows experienced composers and producers to be exposed to sequencing techniques applied to traditional writing and arranging styles. The book continues to provide a comprehensive and solid learning experience and has been fully revised to include the latest tools and techniques. The new edition has been updated to include: A new chapter on cover writing and sequencing for vocal ensembles Coverage of writing for different ensemble sizes A new final chapter on writing and production techniques for mixed contemporary ensembles. All new techniques, tools, and sound libraries available to today's composer. A companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/pejrolo) includes a wide selection of audio examples, templates, sounds, and videos showcasing operational processes, allows you the opportunity to listen to the techniques discussed within the book.
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Modern Records, Maverick Methods by Samantha BennettFrom the Fairlight CMI through MIDI to the digital audio workstations at the turn of the millennium, Modern Records, Maverick Methods examines a critical period in commercial popular music record production: the transformative digital age from the late 1970s until 2000. Drawing on a discography of more than 300 recordings across pop, rock, hip hop, dance and alternative musics from artists such as the Beastie Boys, Madonna, U2 and Fatboy Slim, and extensive and exclusive ethnographic work with many world-renowned recordists, Modern Records presents a fresh and insightful new perspective on one of the most significant eras in commercial music record production.The book traces the development of significant music technologies through the 1980s and 1990s, revealing how changing attitudes and innovative techniques of recording personnel reimagined recording processes and, finally, exemplifies the impact of these technologies and techniques via six comprehensive tech-processual analyses. This meticulously researched and timely book reveals the complexity of recordists' responses to a technological landscape in flux.
Publication Date: 2018-12-27
Introduction to Live Sound Reinforcement, 2nd ed. by Teddy BoyceFor live sound engineers, this book is an invaluable resource in the path to career development. This edition builds upon the clear writing and comprehensive illustrations of the previous edition to explain the fundamental concepts of acoustics and the operating principles of all the key components of a live sound reinforcement system. Using easy to understand language, the design and implementation of the live sound system is covered in detail. Extended coverage is given to the use of digital networks and digital audio distribution in the live sound arena, and thorough guidance is given in the practical aspects of executing and managing a live sound session from the engineer's perspective. Creating a solid foundation upon which to build a career is a crucial step in ensuring future success. The practical information surrounding the concepts, implementation, and practices central to live sound reinforcement presented in this book will help you build that foundation....
Publication Date: 2020-02-25
The Recording Engineer's Handbook, 4th ed. by Bobby OwsinskiBobby Owsinski's The Recording Engineer's Handbook has become a music industry standard, and this fully updated fourth edition once again offers the most comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the art of audio recording. Written with special emphasis on today's technology and the evolving marketplace, The Recording Engineer's Handbook Fourth Edition includes a complete overview of recording as it's done by most musicians and producers today in their home studios. In the book's first section, you'll learn everything from how microphones work to specific techniques for recording drums, individual instruments, vocals and much more. In the second section you'll benefit from the wisdom and down-to-earth practical advice offered by a host recording professionals including all-time greats like Al Schmitt, Eddie Kramer, Frank Filipetti and many other others. Topics covered include: An overview of recording elements, including microphones, preamps, compressors and DAWs Recording techniques and placement guidance for just about any musical instrument or vocal Prepping and recording drums and percussion Basic tracking and overdub advice and strategies, and stereo and immersive audio recording techniques Interviews with some of the world's best hit-making engineers, and much more Learn the art of recording with renowned author, teacher, producer and engineer Bobby Owsinski, and, in the interviews, explore the creative processes behind not only today's hits but the classic cuts we've enjoyed for years. See for yourself why The Recording Engineer's Handbook, Fourth Edition is the book that's a standard text in college courses all over the world.
Publication Date: 2017-01-15
Treatise on Musical Objects: An Essay Across Disciplines by Pierre SchaefferThe Treatise on Musical Objects is regarded as Pierre Schaeffer's most important work on music and its relationship with technology. Schaeffer expands his earlier research in musique concrète to suggest a methodology of working with sounds based on his experiences in radio broadcasting and the recording studio. Drawing on acoustics, physics, and physiology, but also on philosophy and the relationship between subject and object, Schaeffer's essay summarizes his theoretical and practical work in music composition. Translators Christine North and John Dack present an important book in the history of ideas in Europe that will resonate far beyond electroacoustic music.
Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Handbook of Music and Emotion: : Theory, Research, Applications by Patrik N. Juslin; John SlobodaMusic's ability to express and arouse emotions is a mystery that has fascinated both experts and laymen at least since ancient Greece. The predecessor to this book 'Music and Emotion' (OUP, 2001) was critically and commercially successful and stimulated much further work in this area. In the years since publication of that book, empirical research in this area has blossomed, and the successor to 'Music and Emotion' reflects the considerable activity in this area. The Handbook of Music and Emotion offers an 'up-to-date' account of this vibrant domain. It provides comprehensive coverage of the many approaches that may be said to define the field of music and emotion, in all its breadth and depth. The first section offers multi-disciplinary perspectives on musical emotions from philosophy, musicology, psychology, neurobiology, anthropology, and sociology. The second section features methodologically-oriented chapters on the measurement of emotions via different channels (e.g., self report, psychophysiology, neuroimaging). Sections three and four address how emotion enters into different aspects of musical behavior, both the making of music and its consumption. Section five covers developmental, personality, and social factors. Section six describes the most important applications involving the relationship between music and emotion. In a final commentary, the editors comment on the history of the field, summarize the current state of affairs, as well as propose future directions for the field. The only book of its kind, The Handbook of Music and Emotion will fascinate music psychologists, musicologists, music educators, philosophers, and others with an interest in music and emotion (e.g., in marketing, health, engineering, film, and the game industry). It will be a valuable resource for established researchers in the field, a developmental aid for early-career researchers and postgraduate research students, and a compendium to assist students at various levels. In addition, as with its predecessor, it will also attract interest from practising musicians and lay readers fascinated by music and emotion.
The Songwriter's Workshop: Melody by Jimmy Kachulis(Berklee Press). Spark your imagination with hundreds of creative songwriting techniques! This hands-on guide provides lessons on how to write innovative songs, based on popular songwriting courses at Berklee College of Music. Whether you're a beginning songwriter who can't read a note of music, or an experienced professional looking for new ideas, this book will provide new insight into your craft; it teaches the fundamental techniques behind today's hit songs, together with easy-to-follow exercises so you can immediately apply these tools to your own art. This book comes with audio so you can practice your songs with accompaniment, even if you can't play an instrument.
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Songwriting: Essential Guide to Rhyming by Pat Pattison(Berklee Press). This book has a very specific purpose: to help songwriters find better rhymes and use them more effectively. Rhyme is one of the most crucial areas of lyrics writing, and this guide will provide all of the technical information necessary to develop your skills completely. The exercises and worksheets help experienced writers take a fresh look at their techniques, and prevent novices from developing bad habits. Use this book to start writing better than ever before!
Publication Date: 1991-11-01
The Songwriter's Workshop: Harmony by Jimmy Kachulis(Berklee Press). Learn the fundamental techniques behind today's hit songs, with easy-to-follow exercises so you can immediately apply these tools to your own songs. Quit wrestling with writer's block, and learn to make the songwriting process easy, fun, and intuitive. Kachulis covers a variety of topics, including: colors of chords and keys * chord embellishments and progressions to enrich your palette of colors * dozens of ways to modify your harmonies and progressions * the most common chord progressions used in hit songs * and more. Practice your songs with the online audio accompaniment tracks!
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
The Songwriter's Workshop: Melody by Jimmy Kachulis(Berklee Press). Spark your imagination with hundreds of creative songwriting techniques! This hands-on guide provides lessons on how to write innovative songs, based on popular songwriting courses at Berklee College of Music. Whether you're a beginning songwriter who can't read a note of music, or an experienced professional looking for new ideas, this book will provide new insight into your craft; it teaches the fundamental techniques behind today's hit songs, together with easy-to-follow exercises so you can immediately apply these tools to your own art. This book comes with audio so you can practice your songs with accompaniment, even if you can't play an instrument.
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Songwriting Without Boundaries by Pat PattisonInfuse your lyrics with sensory detail! Writing great song lyrics requires practice and discipline. Songwriting Without Boundaries will help you commit to routine practice through fun writing exercises. This unique collection of more than150 sense-bound prompts helps you develop the skills you need to: * tap into your senses and inject your writing with vivid details * effectively use metaphor and comparative language * add rhythm to your writing and manage phrasing Songwriters, as well as writers of other genres, will benefit from this collection of sensory writing challenges. Divided into four sections, Songwriting Without Boundaries features four different fourteen-day challenges with timed writing exercises, along with examples from other songwriters, poets, and prose writers.
Publication Date: 2012-01-10
Songwriting: Essential Guide to Lyric Form and Structure by Pat Pattison(Berklee Guide). Veteran songwriter Pat Pattison has taught many of Berklee College of Music's best and brightest students how to write truly great lyrics. His helpful guide contains essential information on lyric structures, timing and placement, and exercises to help everyone from beginners to seasoned songwriters say things more effectively and gain a better understanding of their craft. Features examples of famous songs for study, including: Be Still My Beating Heart * Can't Fight This Feeling * It Was a Very Good Year * Tickle Me * and more.
Publication Date: 1991-12-01
Popular Lyric Writing by Andrea Stolpe(Berklee Guide). Write songs that sell! Hit-songwriter/educator Andrea Stolpe shares time-tested tools of commercial songwriting. Her ten-step process will help you to craft lyrics that communicate heart to heart with your audience. She analyzes hit lyrics from artists such as Faith Hill and John Mayer, and reveals why they are successful and how you can make your own songs successful too. Stolpe advises on how to: streamline and accelerate your writing process; use lyric structures and techniques at the heart of countless hit songs; write even when you're not inspired; more!
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Pat Pattison's Songwriting by Pat Pattison(Berklee Press). Find better rhymes, and use them more effectively. Rhyme is one of the most crucial areas of lyric writing, and this guide will provide you with all the technical information necessary to develop your skills completely. Make rhyme work for you, and your lyric writing will greatly improve. If you have written lyrics before, even at a professional level, you can still gain greater control and understanding of your craft with the exercises and worksheets included in this book. Hone your writing technique and skill with this practical and fun approach to the art of lyric writing. Start writing better than ever before! You will learn to: * Use different types of consonant and vowel sounds to improve your lyric story * Find more rhymes and choose which ones are most effective * Spotlight important ideas using rhyme The second edition of this classic songwriting text contains new strategies and insights, as well as analyses of the rhymes of Randy Newman, Warren Zevon, T.S. Eliot, and other songwriters and poets.
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Writing Better Lyrics, 2nd ed. by Pat PattisonThe Must-Have Guide for Songwriters Writing Better Lyrics has been a staple for songwriters for nearly two decades. Now this revised and updated 2nd Edition provides effective tools for everything from generating ideas, to understanding the form and function of a song, to fine-tuning lyrics. Perfect for new and experienced songwriters alike, this time-tested classic covers the basics in addition to more advanced techniques.Songwriters will discover: How to use sense-bound imagery to enhance a song's emotional impact on listeners Techniques for avoiding clich s and creating imaginative metaphors and similes Ways to use repetition as an asset How to successfully manipulate meter Instruction for matching lyrics with music Ways to build on ideas and generate effective titles Advice for working with a co-writer And much more Featuring updated and expanded chapters, 50 fun songwriting exercises, and examples from more than 20 chart-toppings songs, Writing Better Lyrics gives you all of the professional and creative insight you need to write powerful lyrics and put your songs in the spotlight where they belong.
Publication Date: 2009
The Singer-Songwriter Handbook by Justin Williams (Editor); Katherine Williams (Editor)The singer-songwriter, someone who writes and performs their own music, is an ever-present and increasingly complex figure in popular music worlds. The Singer-Songwriter Handbook provides a useful resource for student songwriters, active musicians, fans and scholars alike. This handbook is divided into four main sections: Songwriting (acoustic and digital), Performance, Music Industry and Case Studies. Section I focuses on the 'how to' elements of popular song composition, embracing a range of perspectives and methods, in addition to chapters on the teaching of songwriting to students. Section II deals with the nature of performance: stagecraft, open mic nights, and a number of case studies that engage with performing in a range of contexts. Section III is devoted to aspects of the music industry and the business of music including sales, contract negotiations, copyright, social media and marketing. Section IV provides specific examples of singer-songwriter personae and global open mic scenes. The Singer-Songwriter Handbook is a much-needed single resource for budding singer-songwriters as well as songwriting pedagogues.
Publication Date: 2017-02-23
The Craft and Business of Songwriting, 3rd ed. by John BrahenyThe essential guide for success in songwriting In this comprehensively updated 3rd Edition, John Braheny teaches you the craft of songwriting and then goes behind the scenes of the music business to unearth insider secrets that will make your songs stand out. You'll find exercises and anecdotes to help you: * Develop a "songwriter's consciousness" for picking out original ideas * Collaborate effectively with co-writers * Break into songwriting for film & TV, children's music, and commercials * Use the internet to best advantage for pitching songs, networking, and publicity * Understand the business of demos and song contracts Braheny also brings you up to date with ongoing changes in online digital song distribution, podcasting, song-pitching services, home recording technology, production music libraries, and web hosting services. It's everything you need to know to make your mark on the world of music!
Publication Date: 2006-09-26
Songwriting Strategies by Mark Simos(Berklee Guide). Write songs starting from any direction: melody, lyric, harmony, rhythm, or idea. This book will help you expand your range and flexibility as a songwriter. Discussions, hands-on exercises, and notated examples will help you hone your craft. This creatively liberating approach supports the overall integrity of emotion and meaning in your songs. It will help you become more productive, versatile, and innovative in your songwriting. You will learn to: * Discover more ideas for songs song seeds and capture them in their most powerful and usable form * Overcome writer's block by having many more pathways through the writing process * Develop strong song structures by working independently with melody, lyrics, harmony, and rhythm * Write songs more easily, guided by your well-tuned "songwriter's compass"
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Six Steps to Songwriting Success, Revised Edition by Jason Blume"What' s the secret to writing a hit song? It' s as simple as 1-2-3-4-5-6! Innovative, practical, and inspiring, Six Steps to Songwriting Success presents a surefire step-by-step approach to mastering the elements consistently found in hit songs. Author Jason Blume, a songwriter with the rare distinction of having had songs on the Country, Pop, and R&B charts simultaneously, has packed this book with such key aids as the three-step lyric writing technique used by the pros; lyric, melody, and demo checklists; and tools for self-evaluation - plus many other exercises that work. Blume' s warm, humorous style features motivational anecdotes and entertaining stories of how hit songs came to be written and recorded. Get Six Steps to Songwriting Success, and get on the charts!"
Publication Date: 2008-09-02
The Songwriting Labyrinth by Clive HarrisonA little over two years ago, as an adjunct to the tertiary songwriting lectures I deliver, I began writing a weekly blog for my students about my 40 year career as a songwriter/musician. Student response was unexpected, immediate and overwhelming: it was clear that the blogs addressed a type of learning and information not covered in the lectures and other music study undertaken at the college, and the students clamoured for more of this informal, anecdotal context. Looking back on a life as a songwriter, one makes a myriad of choices and decisions during the act of creating songs. My life and career in music is peppered liberally with wonderful, informative experiences, and as a result of past failures, victories, fortune and misfortune, I have compiled the cultural capital, or habitus , necessary to succeed. This book is not a quest for the formula for writing a hit song, for that would be nonsensical. It is an endeavour to observe and codify patterns of professional practice that have been recognised as successful by audiences and experts in the field, and to organise those observations into generalizable theories that may be applied so as to create more successful song outcomes. Once identified, such theories need to be explained in a manner clear enough for a reliable transfer of knowledge to occur, so that the individual songwriter has all the necessary tools to create their own, idiosyncratic expressions in song, not to pretend that some contrived notion of a perfect, repeatable song method exists. In order to answer the question, "How do creative songwriters do what they do when they do it", I have attempted to;o Simplify: Cite, reference and cherry pick what's important for knowledge transfero Synthesise: ideas, approaches, perspectives and teaching approacheso Hypothesise: my own contributions, comments, evaluations and preferenceso Integrate: the theory of Multiple Intelligences described by Gardner, implying multiple ways to learno Provide: notated music examples as references of our (inadequate) Western musical symbol system, as well as tables, diagrams and visual images whenever possible.o Clarify: highlight and explain concisely, translate concepts into plain Englisho Contextualise: include one or more blog, anecdote or both in each small section
Publication Date: 2015-04-06
Animation: a World History, Volume I: Foundations - The Golden Age by Giannalberto BendazziA continuation of 1994's groundbreaking Cartoons, Giannalberto Bendazzi's Animation: A World History is the largest, deepest, most comprehensive text of its kind, based on the idea that animation is an art form that deserves its own place in scholarship. Bendazzi delves beyond just Disney, offering readers glimpses into the animation of Russia, Africa, Latin America, and other often-neglected areas and introducing over fifty previously undiscovered artists. Full of first-hand, never before investigated, and elsewhere unavailable information, Animation: A World History encompasses the history of animation production on every continent over the span of three centuries. Volume I traces the roots and predecessors of modern animation, the history behind Émile Cohl's Fantasmagorie, and twenty years of silent animated films. Encompassing the formative years of the art form through its Golden Age, this book accounts for animation history through 1950 and covers everything from well-known classics like Steamboat Willie to animation in Egypt and Nazi Germany. With a wealth of new research, hundreds of photographs and film stills, and an easy-to-navigate organization, this book is essential reading for all serious students of animation history. Key Features Over 200 high quality head shots and film stills to add visual reference to your research Detailed information on hundreds of never-before researched animators and films Coverage of animation from more than 90 countries and every major region of the world Chronological and geographical organization for quick access to the information you're looking for
Publication Date: 2016-11-28
Animation: a World History, Volume II: The Birth of a Style - The Three Markets by Giannalberto BendazziA continuation of 1994's groundbreaking Cartoons, Giannalberto Bendazzi's Animation: A World History is the largest, deepest, most comprehensive text of its kind, based on the idea that animation is an art form that deserves its own place in scholarship. Bendazzi delves beyond just Disney, offering readers glimpses into the animation of Russia, Africa, Latin America, and other often-neglected areas and introducing over fifty previously undiscovered artists. Full of first-hand, never before investigated, and elsewhere unavailable information, Animation: A World History encompasses the history of animation production on every continent over the span of three centuries. Volume II delves into the decades following the Golden Age, an uncertain time when television series were overshadowing feature films, art was heavily influenced by the Cold War, and new technologies began to emerge that threatened the traditional methods of animation. Take part in the turmoil of the 1950s through 90s as American animation began to lose its momentum and the advent of television created a global interest in the art form. With a wealth of new research, hundreds of photographs and film stills, and an easy-to-navigate organization, this book is essential reading for all serious students of animation history. Key Features Over 200 high quality head shots and film stills to add visual reference to your research Detailed information on hundreds of never-before researched animators and films Coverage of animation from more than 90 countries and every major region of the world Chronological and geographical organization for quick access to the information you're looking for
Publication Date: 2016-11-28
Animation: a World History, Volume III: Contemporary Times by Giannalberto BendazziA continuation of 1994's groundbreaking Cartoons, Giannalberto Bendazzi's Animation: A World History is the largest, deepest, most comprehensive text of its kind, based on the idea that animation is an art form that deserves its own place in scholarship. Bendazzi delves beyond just Disney, offering readers glimpses into the animation of Russia, Africa, Latin America, and other often-neglected areas and introducing over fifty previously undiscovered artists. Full of first-hand, never before investigated, and elsewhere unavailable information, Animation: A World History encompasses the history of animation production on every continent over the span of three centuries. Volume III catches you up to speed on the state of animation from 1991 to present. Although characterized by such trends as economic globalization, the expansion of television series, emerging markets in countries like China and India, and the consolidation of elitist auteur animation, the story of contemporary animation is still open to interpretation. With an abundance of first-hand research and topics ranging from Nickelodeon and Pixar to modern Estonian animation, this book is the most complete record of modern animation on the market and is essential reading for all serious students of animation history. Key Features Over 200 high quality head shots and film stills to add visual reference to your research Detailed information on hundreds of never-before researched animators and films Coverage of animation from more than 90 countries and every major region of the world Chronological and geographical organization for quick access to the information you're looking for
Publication Date: 2015-11-17
A New History of Animation by Maureen FurnissA New History of Animation guides readers through the history and context of animation from around the world. The book assumes no prior knowledge of the subject and explains all the key technical concepts, filling a gap in the market for a complete and well-researched animation history textbook that can be used by teachers in trade schools and universities worldwide, as well as by readers interested in the story of this evolving medium.Topics covered include: early cinema and the foundations of the animation industry; animation as modern art and the emergence of the major studios; animation during wartime; stop-motion; new audiences for animation, in advertising, television, and games; animation from Eastern Europe; short films; computer-generated animation; international animation from Japan and elsewhere; and animation as an art form.
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
FORCE: Dynamic Life Drawing, 10th Anniversary ed. by Mike MattesiBring your artwork to life with the power of the FORCE! Watch, listen, and follow along as Mike Mattesi demonstrates the fundamental FORCE line and explains dynamic figure drawing techniques through 30 videos that are launched through the book's companion App. Packed with superb, powerfully drawn examples, the updated third edition of FORCE features an all-new section on the "FORCE blob," and dozens of fresh illustrations. Mike Mattesi's 10th anniversary edition of FORCE will teach readers how to put thought and imagination to paper. Whether you are an illustrator, animator, comic book artist, or student, you'll learn to use rhythm, shape, and line to bring out the life in any subject. The 10th Anniversary Edition contains numerous improvements. Around 30 videos are embedded within the book and accessible through the FORCE Drawing App. In the App, click on the image of the camera, point your mobile device's camera at the page with the symbol, and then finally tap the video card image floating above the drawing to launch the video. Then sit back and watch the video that shows me creating that drawing and discussing my process. Many new drawings can be found within this edition and the addition of color now further clarifies the theory of FORCE. Key Features The unique, dynamic learning system that has helped thousands of artists enhance their figure drawing abilities Dozens of updated illustrations and all-new content, exclusive to the 3rd edition Select pages can be scanned by your smartphone or other device to pull up bonus video content, enhancing the learning process Companion App: Nearly 50 videos are available on the free FORCE Drawing companion app that can be downloaded through Google Play or the Apple App Store
Publication Date: 2017-03-27
Sketching for Animation by Peter ParrDrawing and sketching are central to the art of animation and can be crucial tools in designing and developing original stories, characters and layouts. Sketching for Animation offers a wealth of examples, exercises and tips from an army of professional animators to help you develop essential sketching, technical drawing and ideation techniques. With interviews and in-depth case studies from some of today's leading animators, including Bill Plympton, Glen Keane, Tori Davis and John Canemaker, this is a unique guide to turning your sketchbook - the world's cheapest, most portable pre-visualisation tool - into your own personal animation armory.
Publication Date: 2018-08-22
Rig It Right! Maya Animation Rigging Concepts, 2nd ed. by Tina O'HaileyRig it Right! breaks down rigging so that you can achieve a fundamental understanding of the concept. The author will get you up and rigging with step-by-step tutorials covering multiple animation control types, connection methods, interactive skinning, BlendShapes, edgeloops, and joint placement, to name a few. The concept of a bi-ped is explored as a human compared to a bird character allowing you to see that a bi-ped is a bi-ped and how to problem solve for the limbs at hand. Rig it Right! will take you to a more advanced level where you will learn how to create stretchy rigs with invisible control systems and use that to create your own types of rigs. Key Features Hone your skills every step of the way with short tutorials and editable rigs that accompany each chapter. (17+ rigs!!). Read "Tina's 10 Rules of Rigging" and build the foundational knowledge needed to successfully rig your characters. Visit the companion website and expand your newfound knowledge with editable rigs, exercises, and videos that elaborate on techniques covered in the book. Companion data filled with example files at http://routledgetextbooks.com/textbooks/_author/ohailey/ AR(Augmented Reality) enabled images throughout the book! Coffee is not required - but encouraged.
Publication Date: 2018-09-24
Animation Unleashed by Ellen Besen and Bryce HallettAnimation is a powerful tool for communication. This book reveals key principles, useful for both professional and beginner animators, which will help them harness the full power of this exciting and ever expanding medium.
Publication Date: 2008
3D Animation for the Raw Beginner Using Maya, 2nd ed. by Roger King3D Animation for the Raw Beginner Using Autodesk Maya is a hands-on academic textbook as well as a do-it-yourself training manual for the individual animator. This second edition has been completely rewritten to take into account updates to Autodesk Maya, including Autodesk's renderer, Arnold. It contains entirely new examples and tutorial lessons. All 612 images are in full color. The book directs the reader to the parts of Maya that must be mastered in order to create complete 3D projects, and thus it simplifies the process of taking on Maya's vast and intricate interface, while giving the reader a firm foundation on which to build future knowledge of Maya. It also presents brief examples of other popular 3D applications and rendering engines. This principles-based, yet pragmatic book: Introduces the basic steps of the 3D modeling, materials, animation, lighting, and rendering processes. Presents clear and concise tutorials that link key concepts to practical techniques. Includes access to a webpage for the book: https://buzzking.com/AnimationTextbook/AnimationTextbook.html. On this webpage are videos that cover many of the lessons in the book, as well as video tutorials that present bonus material not included in the book. Frees instructors from the painstaking task of developing step-by-step examples to present Maya's complex interface and basic capabilities. Boasts an easy-to-follow, tutorial-based learning style ideal for individual study by aspiring animators and do-it yourselfers. Roger "Buzz" Kingis a Professor Emeritus at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where he teaches 3D Animation for the Computer Science Department and the Alliance for Technology, Learning, and Society (ATLAS), an institute dedicated to the application of technology to the arts. Buzz is an independent 3D animator who serves on the board of directors of a 3D animation startup. Buzz has a B.A. in Mathematics from Occidental College, an M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Southern California, and an M.Div. from the Iliff School of Theology.
Publication Date: 2019-02-13
How Games Move Us: Emotion by Design by Katherine IsbisterAn engaging examination of how video game design can create strong, positive emotional experiences for players, with examples from popular, indie, and art games. This is a renaissance moment for video games -- in the variety of genres they represent, and the range of emotional territory they cover. But how do games create emotion? In How Games Move Us, Katherine Isbister takes the reader on a timely and novel exploration of the design techniques that evoke strong emotions for players. She counters arguments that games are creating a generation of isolated, emotionally numb, antisocial loners. Games, Isbister shows us, can actually play a powerful role in creating empathy and other strong, positive emotional experiences; they reveal these qualities over time, through the act of playing. She offers a nuanced, systematic examination of exactly how games can influence emotion and social connection, with examples -- drawn from popular, indie, and art games -- that unpack the gamer's experience. Isbister describes choice and flow, two qualities that distinguish games from other media, and explains how game developers build upon these qualities using avatars, non-player characters, and character customization, in both solo and social play. She shows how designers use physical movement to enhance players' emotional experience, and examines long-distance networked play. She illustrates the use of these design methods with examples that range from Sony's Little Big Planet to the much-praised indie game Journey to art games like Brenda Romero's Train. Isbister's analysis shows us a new way to think about games, helping us appreciate them as an innovative and powerful medium for doing what film, literature, and other creative media do: helping us to understand ourselves and what it means to be human.
Publication Date: 2016-03-04
Theory of Fun for Game Design, 2nd ed. by Raph KosterNow in full color, the 10th anniversary edition of this classic book takes you deep into the influences that underlie modern video games, and examines the elements they share with traditional games such as checkers. At the heart of his exploration, veteran game designer Raph Koster takes a close look at the concept of fun and why it's the most vital element in any game. Why do some games become boring quickly, while others remain fun for years? How do games serve as fundamental and powerful learning tools? Whether you're a game developer, dedicated gamer, or curious observer, this illustrated, fully updated edition helps you understand what drives this major cultural force, and inspires you to take it further. You'll discover that: Games play into our innate ability to seek patterns and solve puzzles Most successful games are built upon the same elements Slightly more females than males now play games Many games still teach primitive survival skills Fictional dressing for modern games is more developed than the conceptual elements Truly creative designers seldom use other games for inspiration Games are beginning to evolve beyond their prehistoric origins
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
Computer-Aided Graphics and Design, 3rd ed. by Daniel L. RyanThis text, now in its third edition, presents all common methods of computer/automated graphical construction most helpful to the engineering student, draftsperson or designer, describing, in easy-to-understand terms, a wide range of hardware platforms that will run a single set of software options from the Autodesk Corporation.
First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Exploring Earthiness by Anne PrimavesiIf we see ourselves as Earth, rather than Earth as existing for us, our perspective is transformed. A variety of religious, philosophical, cultural, and political self-perceptions that dominate our sense of human identity are deeply challenged by this shift in perspective. John Locke's doctrine of Earth as human 'property' has been central to current presuppositions about our selves: justified on the grounds of our possessing unique, divinely bestowed, rational abilities. But today, the effectsof that doctrine on Earth's resource base and on its other-than-human creatures directly challenge such assumptions. At the same time contemporary scientific findings about the evolution of Earthly life demonstrate that while we belong to Earth and nowhere else, Earth does not belong to us. Exploring this role reversal raises fundamental questions about current theological, philosophical, scientific, and economic presuppositions that underpin the 'business as usual' viewpoint and human-centeredaims of contemporary policies and lifestyles. It takes us beyond hierarchical Christian and philosophical doctrines toward a deeper, Earth-focused and peace-based understanding of what it means to be human today.
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Half-Real by Jesper JuulA video game is half-real: we play by real rules while imagining a fictional world. We win or lose the game in the real world, but we slay a dragon (for example) only in the world of the game. In this thought-provoking study, Jesper Juul examines the constantly evolving tension between rules and fiction in video games. Discussing games from Pong to The Legend of Zelda, from chess to Grand Theft Auto, he shows how video games are both a departure from and a development of traditional non-electronic games. The book combines perspectives from such fields as literary and film theory, computer science, psychology, economic game theory, and game studies, to outline a theory of what video games are, how they work with the player, how they have developed historically, and why they are fun to play. Locating video games in a history of games that goes back to Ancient Egypt, Juul argues that there is a basic affinity between games and computers. Just as the printing press and the cinema have promoted and enabled new kinds of storytelling, computers work as enablers of games, letting us play old games in new ways and allowing for new kinds of games that would not have been possible before computers. Juul presents a classic game model, which describes the traditional construction of games and points to possible future developments. He examines how rules provide challenges, learning, and enjoyment for players, and how a game cues the player into imagining its fictional world. Juul's lively style and eclectic deployment of sources will make Half-Real of interest to media, literature, and game scholars as well as to game professionals and gamers.
Publication Date: 2005-11-04
Religion and Science Fiction by James F. McGrath (Editor)This multidisciplinary book focuses on the intersection between religion and science fiction. Several perspectives are addressed by scholars from different disciplines: theology, literature, history, music, and anthropology. From Frankenstein, by way of Christian apocalyptic, to Star Wars, Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, and much more, and from the United States to China and back again, the authors who contribute to this volume serve as guides in the exploration of religion and science fiction as a multifaceted, multidisciplinary, and multicultural phenomenon.
Hero with a Thousand Faces, 30th Anniversary Special Edition by Joseph CampbellSince its release in 1949,The Hero with a Thousand Faces has influenced millions of readers by combining the insights of modern psychology with Joseph Campbell's revolutionary understanding of comparative mythology. In these pages, Campbell outlines the Hero's Journey, a universal motif of adventure and transformation that runs through virtually all of the world's mythic traditions. He also explores the Cosmogonic Cycle, the mythic pattern of world creation and destruction. As part of the Joseph Campbell Foundation's Collected Works of Joseph Campbell, this third edition features expanded illustrations, a comprehensive bibliography, and more accessible sidebars. As relevant today as when it was first published,The Hero with a Thousand Faces continues to find new audiences in fields ranging from religion and anthropology to literature and film studies. The book has also profoundly influenced creative artists--including authors, songwriters, game designers, and filmmakers--and continues to inspire all those interested in the inherent human need to tell stories.
Publication Date: 2008-07-28
Writing Your Screenplay by Lisa DethridgeThis guide to film writing is an ideal introduction to the craft for would-be screen scribes or film buffs who want to learn how it is done. A broad introduction to writing for the screen is provided, along with a structured system for creating strong screenplays, based on the author's successful online college course. This book goes beyond the typical formulaic approach, offering insights into the classic mythic structures as well as contemporary storytelling techniques that underlie good screenwriting. The secrets to crafting cohesive plots, likeable characters, compelling action, and believable dialogue are all explained. Also provided is guidance on how to create strong scenes and a complete visual world that will engage audiences.
Film/Genre by Rick AltmanFilm/Genre revises our notions of film genre and connects the roles played by industry critics and audiences in making and re-making genre. Altman reveals the conflicting stakes for which the genre game has been played and recognises that the term 'genre' has different meanings for different groups, basing his new genre theory on the uneasy competitive yet complimentary relationship among genre users and discussing a huge range of films from The Great Train Robbery to Star Wars and from The Jazz Singer to The Player.
Publication Date: 1998
DSLR Cinema, 3rd ed. by Kurt LancasterThe DSLR cinema revolution began over ten years ago. Professional filmmakers, students, video journalists, event video shooters, production houses, and others jumped at the opportunity to shoot cinematic images on these low budget cameras. The first edition of the book mapped the way focusing exclusively on DSLRs. This new edition shows how you can create stunning cinematic images using low budget cinema cameras, from iPhones to the C200. The author examines new cameras and new projects as filmmakers shoot action movies with the Panasonic GH5, craft personal stories with Blackmagic's Pocket Cinema Camera, make documentaries and short films with the Canon C100 Mark II, and create music videos with the 5D Mark IV. This book, like the previous edition, takes the wisdom of some of the best shooters and empowers you to create visually stunning images with low budget cinema cameras. It includes six all new case studies, as well as updated examples from short films and documentaries. This book contains the essential tools to make you a better visual storyteller. FEATURES An examination of the creative and technical choices filmmakers face--everything from why we move cameras to shooting flat in order to widen the dynamic range of cameras Case studies from documentary filmmakers, news shooters, fiction makers, a visual anthropologist, and recent film school graduates An updated list of gear for low-budget filmmakers, including a section on what to look for in the gear you need to shoot and edit your projects
Publication Date: 2018-02-09
Sight, Sound, Motion : Applied Media Aesthetics, 8th ed. by Herbert ZettlDelivering the most comprehensive coverage available, Herb Zettl's SIGHT SOUND MOTION: APPLIED MEDIA AESTHETICS, 8e thoroughly describes the major aesthetic image elements -- light and color, space, time-motion, and sound -- as well as presents in-depth coverage on how they are creatively used in television and film. Real-world applications bring the text's detailed coverage of aesthetic theory to life. It equips you to think critically about media aesthetics and apply them to production situations. Now presented in full color, the Eighth Edition's engaging presentation is richly illustrated with strong visuals that often draw on traditional art forms, such as painting, sculpture, and dance.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Introduction to Interactive Digital Media by Julia V. GriffeyThis book offers a clearly written and engaging introduction to the basics of interactive digital media. As our reliance on and daily usage of websites, mobile apps, kiosks, games, VR/AR and devices that respond to our commands has increased, the need for practitioners who understand these technologies is growing. Author Julia Griffey provides a valuable guide to the fundamentals of this field, offering best practices and common pitfalls throughout. The book also notes opportunities within the field of interactive digital media for professionals with different types of skills, and interviews with experienced practitioners offer practical wisdom for readers. Additional features of this book include: An overview of the history, evolution and impact of interactive media; A spotlight on the development process and contributing team members; Analysis of the components of interactive digital media and their design function (graphics, animation, audio, video, typography, color); An introduction to coding languages for interactive media; and A guide to usability in interactive media. Introduction to Interactive Digital Media will help both students and professionals understand the varied creative, technical, and collaborative skills needed in this exciting and emerging field.
The Visual Story, 3rd ed. by Bruce BlockThis updated edition of a best-selling classic shows you how to structure your visuals as carefully as a writer structures a story or composers structure their music. The Visual Story teaches you how to design and control the structure of your production using the basic visual components of space, line, shape, tone, color, movement, and rhythm. You can use these components to effectively convey moods and emotions, create a visual style, and utilize the important relationship between the visual and the story structures. Using over 700 color illustrations, author Bruce Block explains how understanding the connection between story and visual structures will guide you in the selection of camera angles, lenses, actor staging, composition, set design and locations, lighting, storyboard planning, camera coverage, and editing. The Visual Story is an ideal blend of theory and practice. The concepts and examples in this new edition will benefit students learning cinematic production, as well as professional writers, directors, cinematographers, art directors, animators, game designers, and anyone working in visual media who wants a better understanding of visual structure.
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
Film Directing: Shot by Shot - 25th Anniversary Edition by Steve D. KatzShot by Shot is the world's go-to directing book, now newly updated for a special 25th Anniversary edition! The first edition sold over 250,000 copies, making it one of the bestselling books on film di-recting of all time. Aspiring directors, cinematographers, editors, and producers, many of whom are now working professionals, learned the craft of visual storytelling from Shot by Shot, the most com-plete source for preplanning the look of a movie.The book contains over 800 photos and illustrations, and is by far the most comprehensive look at shot design in print, containing storyboards from movies such as Citizen Kane, Blade Runner, Dead-pool, and Moonrise Kingdom. Also introduced is the concept of A, I, and L patterns as a way to sim-plify the hundreds of staging choices facing a director in every scene.Shot by Shot uniquely blends story analysis with compositional strategies, citing examples then il-lustrated with the storyboards used for the actual films. Throughout the book, various visual ap-proaches to short scenes are shown, exposing the directing processes of our most celebrated au-teurs -- including a meticulous, lavishly illustrated analysis of Steven Spielberg's scene design for Empire of the Sun.
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Television News, 4th ed. by Teresa KellerTelevision Newsis a comprehensive resource for newswriting, reporting, shooting and editing video, and producing a newscast. This book provides instruction in the basic steps of telling video stories, and is perfectly suited for preparing young professionals for entry-level positions as television or multimedia journalists. Moreover, the text goes to the heart of storytelling with guidance appropriate for advancement in an industry that is challenged more than ever to retain the public trust. The reporting and video storytelling skills found in this book can also be applied in non-traditional video communication jobs in both businesses and nonprofits. Conversational and easy to understand, this book grounds readers in the ethical and legal consideration necessary to do the job right. New to the fourth edition is coverage of social media, shooting and broadcasting with cell phones, and a discussion of "fake news." This book can be used in standalone introductory broadcast courses or across multiple, specialized modules. It features a website with ancillary material that helps students learn to write, shoot, and edit video with practical activities. ry broadcast courses or across multiple, specialized modules. It features a website with ancillary material that helps students learn to write, shoot, and edit video with practical activities.
Publication Date: 2019-05-09
The Filmmaker's Handbook, 5th ed. by Steven AscherWith a myriad of options and technology available to filmmakers, making a film is more affordable than ever. As legions of would-be filmmakers aspire to put their dreams on screen, to become the next Scorsese or viral YouTube hit, this comprehensive guide is more essential than ever. Covering digital video, film and even DSLR still cameras with video capabilities, two award winning filmmakers and teachers address all aspects of filmmaking.
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
The Film Experience, 6th ed. by Timothy Corrigan; Patricia WhiteNow with Macmillan's highly touted LaunchPad to deliver superior content online, The Film Experience offers a comprehensive introduction to the art, language, industry, culture, and experience of the movies --with new digital tools to bring that experience to life and help students master course material. The text highlights how formal elements like cinematography, editing, and sound can be analyzed and interpreted within the context of a film as a whole. With superior tools for reading and writing about film, as well as unparalleled coverage of diversity, inclusion, and non-mainstream filmmaking traditions, The most robust introduction to film on the market, the Sixth Edition emphasizes film technology through expanded coverage of animation and a new Technology in Action feature, which puts the evolving technology of film in historical context. The Film Experience is also now available with LaunchPad, Macmillan's customizable online course space, which includes the full e-book, LearningCurve adaptive quizzing, a rich array of video activities aligned with the text, and more.
Publication Date: 2020-11-06
The Language of Graphic Design-Updated and Revised by Richard PoulinTo communicate in a new language, you first have to gain a complete understanding of its fundamentals; the ABC's of that language--definitions, functions, and usage.The Language of Graphic Design provides design students and practitioners with an in-depth understanding of the fundamental elements and principles of their language--graphic design--what they are, why they are important, and how to use them effectively. Organized by the building blocks of the graphic design language, this reference includes work by some of the most successful and renowned practitioners from around the world and explains how they have applied these fundamental principles to their work. By examining both student and professional work, this comprehensive handbook is a more meaningful, memorable, and inspiring reference tool for novice design students, as well as young designers starting their careers.
Graphic Design School, 7th ed. by David Dabner; Sandra Stewart; Abbie VickressFrom understanding graphic design fundamentals, to developing original concepts, to creating finished designs--Graphic Design School develops design students' core competencies and provides practical advice and tips for how these fundamentals translate into new and evolving media. This Seventh Edition offers all new examples from web, app, social media, magazines, websites and books, presenting a comprehensive overview of the visual communications profession. This updated edition includes guidance and media examples using the latest in grahpic design software, and traditional printing techniques such as risograph and screen printing are revisited. Pedagogical tools throughout the text focus on the growth of interdisciplinary learning and collaborations between design specialists, as well as highlights on key players in the past and present of graphic design. Topics covered include: color, typographic rules and typefaces, coding requirements, information architecture, file organization, web design and layout, mobile device composition, app design, CMS, designing for social media, and SEO. Graphic Design School, 7th Edition includes full-color illustrations throughout, as well as case studies, designer biographies, and student assignments for testing skills and concepts.
Publication Date: 2020-02-05
Layout Essentials Revised and Updated by Beth TondreauA classic and essential text for designers since 2009, Layout Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Using Grids just got better with a fresh exploration of its design principles, updated text, and new photos and international graphics. Grids are the basis for all design projects, and learning how to work with them is fundamental for all graphic designers. From working with multi-column formats to using type, color, images, and more, Layout Essentials not only demonstrates, using real world examples, how to use grids effectively, but shows you how to break the rules to use them effectively, too. This revised and updated version of Layout Essentials is your one-stop reference and resource for all layout design projects.
Publication Date: 2019
The Pocket Universal Methods of Design by Bruce Hanington and Bella MartinThe ultimate handbook for designers, students, even educators, The Pocket Universal Methods of Design is armed with 100 principles of design knowledge to keep your team sharp. This handy, pocket-version of the Universal Methods of Design provides the same thorough and critical presentation of 100 research methods, synthesis/analysis techniques, and research deliverables for human centered design. And now it’s delivered in a concise, accessible format that fits in any bag or purse! Each method of research is distilled down to its most powerful essence, in a format that will help design teams select and implement the most credible research methods best suited to their design culture within the constraints of their projects. This valuable guide: Dismantles the myth that user research methods are complicated, expensive, and time-consuming Creates a shared meaning for cross-disciplinary design teams Illustrates methods with compelling visualizations and case studies Characterizes each method at a glanceDon't wait to get your team on the same page and designing in a completely new, more effective way!
Publication Date: 2017
Design Thinking for Visual Communication, 2nd ed. by Gavin AmbroseHow do you start a design project? How can you generate ideas and concepts in response to a design brief? How do other designers do it? This book will answer all these questions and more. Now in its second edition, the highly popular Design Thinking for Visual Communication identifies methods and thought processes used by designers in order to start the process that eventually leads to a finished piece of work. Step-by-step guidance for each part of the process is highlighted by real-life case studies, enabling the student to see teaching in practice. This focus on ideas and methods eschews an abstract, academic approach in favour of a useable approach to design as a problem-solving activity. The new edition now includes contributions from a broader international range of design practices and adds depth to existing case studies by looking in greater detail at some of the processes used.
Publication Date: 2019-08-22
Design: The Key Concepts by D. J. HuppatzDesign is everywhere. It shapes not only our present but also our future. An essential introductory guide, Design- The Key Concepts covers fundamental design concepts- thinking, service, context, interaction, experience, and systems. Each concept is situated within a broad context, enabling the reader to understand design's contemporary practice and its relationship to issues such as new technology, social and economic development, globalization, and sustainability. Concepts are also explained by use of concise, illustrated case studies of contemporary objects, spaces, systems, and methods such as Uber, the iPhone, Kickstarter and IKEA. Chapter summaries and supporting discussion questions make this an engaging and accessible introduction for students and those new to the field. An annotated bibliography provides direction for further reading.
Publication Date: 2019-10-17
Symbol by Steven Bateman; Angus HylandSymbols play an integral role in branding programs. This book explores the visual language of symbols according to their most basic element: form. Over 1,300 symbols from all over the world are here categorized by visual type, divested of all agendas, meanings, and messages that might be associated with them so that the effectiveness of their composition and impact can be assessed without distraction and so that the reader can enjoy them as a pictorial language in their own right. Every symbol is captioned with information on who it was designed for, who designed it, when, and what the symbol stands for. These sections are interspersed with short but detailed case studies featuring classic examples of symbols still in use, and exceptional examples of recently designed symbols. This comprehensive volume is an indispensable resource for designers working on identity systems, and an engaging showcase of this exciting field. Now in a compact format.
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
The Study Skills Handbook, 5th ed. by Stella CottrellThis is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
Orientalism, First Vintage books edition by Edward W. SaidOrientalism is one of the greatest and most influential of books of ideas to be published since the end of the European empires. For generations now it has defined our understanding of colonialism and empire and with each passing year its influence becomes if anything even greater.
Publication Date: 1979
Critical Thinking Skills : Effective Analysis, Argument and Reflection, 3rd ed. by Stella CottrellWritten by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
The Netflix Effect by Kevin McDonald (Editor); Daniel Smith-Rowsey (Editor)Netflix is the definitive media company of the 21st century. It was among the first to parlay new Internet technologies into a successful business model, and in the process it changed how consumers access film and television. It is now one of the leading providers of digitally delivered media content and is continually expanding access across a host of platforms and mobile devices. Despite its transformative role, however, Netflix has drawn very little critical attention-far less than competitors such as YouTube, Apple, Amazon, Comcast, and HBO. This collection addresses this gap, as the essays are designed to critically explore the breadth and diversity of Netflix's effect from a variety of different scholarly perspectives, a necessary approach considering the hybrid nature of Netflix, its inextricable links to new models of media production, distribution, viewer engagement and consumer behavior, its relationship to existing media conglomerates and consumer electronics, its capabilities as a web-based service provider and data network, and its reliance on a broader technological infrastructure.
Publication Date: 2016-08-11
The Craft of Criticism by Mary Celeste Kearney (Editor); Michael Kackman (Editor)With contributions from 30 leading media scholars, this collection provides a comprehensive overview of the main methodologies of critical media studies. Chapters address various methods of textual analysis, as well as reception studies, policy, production studies, and contextual, multi-method approaches, like intertextuality and cultural geography. Film and television are at the heart of the collection, which also addresses emergent technologies and new research tools in such areas as software studies, gaming, and digital humanities. Each chapter includes an intellectual history of a particular method or approach, a discussion of why and how it was used to study a particular medium or media, relevant examples of influential work in the area, and an in-depth review of a case study drawn from the author's own research. Together, the chapters in this collection give media critics a complete toolbox of essential critical media studies methodologies.
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
Dungeons and Desktops, 2nd ed. by Matt Barton; Shane StacksComputer role-playing games (CRPGs) are a special genre of computer games that bring the tabletop role-playing experience of games such as Dungeons & Dragons to the computer screen. Thisnew edition inlcudes two new chapters: The Modern Age, and a chapter on Indies and Mobile CRPGs. The new modern age chapter will cover, among other topics, Kickstarter/FIG crowdfunded projects such as Torment: Tides of Numenera and Pillars of Eternity. It'll also bring the book up to date with major games such as Dragon Age, Witcher, Skyrim. Expanded info in first chapter about educational potential of CRPGs. Color figures will be introduced for the first time. Key Features gives reviews of hundreds of games across many platforms. comprehensive book covering the history of computer RPGs. comprehensive index at the back, letting you quickly look up your favourite titles s
Publication Date: 2019-05-02
Gaming Masculinity: Trolls, Fake Geeks, and the Gendered Battle for Online Culture by Megan CondisIn 2016, a female videogame programmer and a female journalist were harassed viciously by anonymous male online users in what became known as GamerGate. Male gamers threatened to rape and kill both women, and the news soon made international headlines, exposing the level of abuse that many women and minorities face when participating in the predominantly male online culture. Gaming Masculinity explains how the term "gamer" has been constructed in the popular imagination by a core group of male online users in an attempt to shore up an embattled form of geeky masculinity. This latest form of toxicity comes at a moment of upheaval in gaming culture, as women, people of color, and LGBTQ individuals demand broader access and representation online. Paying close attention to the online practices of trolling and making memes, author Megan Condis demonstrates that, despite the supposedly disembodied nature of life online, performances of masculinity are still afforded privileged status in gamer culture. Even worse, she finds that these competing discourses are not just relegated to the gaming world but are creating rifts within the culture at large, as witnessed by the direct links between the GamerGate movement and the recent rise of the alt-right during the last presidential election. Condis asks what this moment can teach us about the performative, collaborative, and sometimes combative ways that American culture enacts race, gender, and sexuality. She concludes by encouraging designers and those who work in the tech industry to think about how their work might have, purposefully or not, been developed in ways that are marked by gender.
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Freelancing in the Creative Industries by Karen Le Rossignol; Claire WilsonWhat are the most challenging aspects of freelancing in the creative Industries? Freelancing requires a breadth of skills across managing projects and timelines, having the space and energy to maintain a creative practice and knowing how to get work into the marketplace.Freelancing in the Creative Industries is a reference that will guide you through your journey as an emerging freelancer in the arts. With an emphasis on creative thinking and problem solving through diverse case studies, this book will help you to become an adaptable freelancer who is able to think strategically in an ever-changing arts sector. It encourages emerging freelance practitioners to open their minds to diverse ways of practicing, such as exploring cross-disciplinary practices or developing creative online marketing strategies. And although it has a strong focus on freelancing skills across creative arts areas, it also takes examples and references from various sectors including: visual arts, writing, performing arts, music, new media arts and cross-disciplinary arts.Key FeaturesBuild up a freelance portfolio with reflective learning activities in each chapter. These activities help apply the content of the chapters to individual practice. They accumulate throughout the book so that by the end emerging or student creative artists will have a portfolio that is directly related to their field of practice.Case studies of creative freelancers focus on the core practice/business skills. This helps guide the learning through concrete examples of how others have shaped their career and solved problems, illustrating how readers can adapt ideas to their own practices.Includes examples from a range of industries. By focusing on core skills (effective communication tools, networking, project management), it is possible to draw from a range of industries with application to any creative freelancer.Each chapter lists further tools that can assist freelancers.
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Coaching and Mentoring in Higher Education by Jill AndreanoffMentoring and coaching are becoming widely recognised as a means to promote student success, retention and attainment. Such programmes help students to transition into university life and achieve the best possible outcome from their experience. For a mentoring or coaching scheme to benefit students, however, it's important to follow best practice. This book will guide you through the crucial stages and possible pitfalls of setting up your own coaching or mentoring programme. The first section outlines what these terms mean, how they can be used and the attributes required to be a good coach or mentor. The book goes on to guide you step by step through the processes of planning a programme, recruiting coaches or mentors, matching them to mentees and evaluating the end result. The final chapters discuss more specialised programmes, such as ementoring and using university mentors for school pupils.
Publication Date: 2016-03-11
Classroom Observation, 2nd ed. by Matt O'LearyBuilding on recent changes and debates surrounding the use of observation, this fully updated second edition of Classroom Observation explores the role of lesson observation in the preparation, assessment and professional learning of teachers, lecturers and educators at all levels and across all educational organisations. Offering practical guidance and detailed insights on an aspect of training that is a source of anxiety for many teachers, this thought-provoking book offers a critical analysis of the place, role and nature of lesson observation in the lives of education professionals. Updated to incorporate the latest research, policy and practical developments on observation, this new edition also includes greater coverage of research and developments in the field of observation beyond the UK. Enabling readers to use observation as a lens for understanding, informing and improving teaching and learning, and equipping them with structured frameworks for applying observation, this book includes sections on: Teacher autonomy and professional identity Performance management, professional standards and accountability Peer observation, self-observation and critical reflection Educational assessment and evaluation Peer-based models of observation Using digital technology to inform learning. Written for all student and practising teachers as well as teacher educators and those engaged in educational research, Classroom Observation is an essential introduction to how we observe, why we observe, and how it can be best used to improve teaching and learning.
Publication Date: 2020-05-12
Active Learning Strategies in Higher Education by Christina Marouli (Editor); Anastasia Misseyanni (Editor); Miltiadis D. Lytras (Editor); Paraskevi Papadopoulou (Editor)In the era of the 21st century knowledge society, higher education can play an important role as a driver for innovation, leadership and creativity, as it helps develop not only well informed and knowledgeable citizens but also responsible and creative individuals. The challenges of globalization, tightly linked with rapid developments in Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) and the need to address issues of quality and inclusiveness for a better quality of life and a sustainable future, have become drivers of change in higher education institutions. We are experiencing a shift towards more interdisciplinary curricula and a more integrated and student-centred approach to teaching. Instructors increasingly use active learning and other pedagogies of engagement as a means to increase learning and improve student attitudes. This book explores best practices for effective active learning in higher education. Experienced instructors from different disciplines and countries share their experiences and reflect on best practices, as well as on the theoretical underpinnings of active learning. Contributors share their thinking on strategies based on different active learning methods such as the use of ICTs, collaborative learning and experiential learning, as well as their implications for teaching, assessment, curriculum design and higher education administration. Active learning provides skills for real life problem solving and prepares students to become responsible and active citizens. This book will be a very significant resource for educators who are interested in making a difference in students' lives.
Publication Date: 2018-04-06
The State of the Art in Small Business and Entrepreneurship by Pierre-André Julien (Editor)Published in 1998. This text is designed as not only a summary of a number of years of reflections by many different researchers, but also a guide for future research and for continuing development of a theory of small business and its environment; a theory that will apply to small businesses everywhere and that will help them become what they hope to be in the 21st century.
Publication Date: 2018-11-08
The Oxford Handbook of Creative Industries by Candace Jones (Editor); Mark Lorenzen (Editor); Jonathan Sapsed (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Creative Industries is a reference work, bringing together many of the world's leading scholars in the application of creativity in economics, business and management, law, policy studies, organization studies, and psychology. Creative industries research has become a regular theme in academic journals and conferences across these subjects and is also an important agenda for governments throughout the world, while business people from established companies and entrepreneurs revaluate and innovate their models in creative industries. The Handbook is organized into four parts: Following the editors' introduction, Part One on Creativity includes individual creativity and how this scales up to teams, social networks, cities, and labour markets. Part Two addresses Generating and Appropriating Value from Creativity, as achieved by agents and organizations, such as entrepreneurs, stars and markets for symbolic goods, and considers how performance is measured in the creative industries. Part Three covers the mechanics of Managing and Organizing Creative Industries, with chapters on the role of brokerage and mediation in creative industry networks, disintermediation and glocalisation due to digital technology, the management of project-based organzations in creative industries, organizing events in creative fields, project ecologies, Global Production Networks, genres and classification and sunk costs and dynamics of creative industries. Part Four on Creative Industries, Culture and the Economy offers chapters on cultural change and entrepreneurship, on development, on copyright, economic spillovers and government policy. This authoritative collection is the most comprehensive source of the state of knowledge in the increasingly important field of creative industries research. Covering emerging economies and new technologies, it will be of interest to scholars and students of the arts, business, innovation, and policy.
Publication Date: 2015-09-09
The Business of Creativity by Michael JacobsenWould you like to earn a living following your creative passion and doing what you love every day? This book will show you how.In The Business of Creativity, Michael Jacobsen draws on his rich experience of owning and operating global entertainment businesses to provide the practical guidance that creative start-ups need to get going.His two key mantras are that each business needs a vision, mission and values, and that the route to success is to observe those who have been successful in your sector and to model their approach. As well as explaining exactly how to do this, he covers the business essentials that all creative entrepreneurs need to consider.The creative sector is worth £36bn a year to the British economy; it is big business and the opportunity is there for entrepreneurs in creative industries to start up and build successful businesses. But bridging the gap between creativity and commerce can be difficult - some see a conflict between artistic integrity and a profit motive, and how exactly do you take your spare room creative enterprise to the next level?In this book Jacobsen looks at:- what foundations to put in place to get your business started- how to set up and grow your business- sources of funding and tips for organising business finances- what angels and other investors will look for- where to find support- the psychology of business success.There are also numerous case studies from successful creative businesses of all sizes and wisdom from high-profile businesspeople operating in the creative sector.This straight-talking business guide is packed with actionable advice and essential tips to give you everything you need to start and grow your creative business.
Publication Date: 2013-06-24
Media Audiences, 2nd ed. by John L. SullivanWhether we are watching TV, surfing the Internet, listening to our iPods, or reading a novel, we all engage with media as an audience. Despite the widespread use of this term in our popular culture, the meaning of the "audience" is complex, and it has undergone significant historical shifts as new forms of mediated communication have developed from print, telegraphy, and radio to film, television, and the Internet. John L. Sullivan′s second edition of Media Audiences: Effects, Users, Institutions, and Power explores the concept of media audiences from four broad perspectives: as "victims" of mass media, as market constructions & commodities, as users of media, and as producers & subcultures of mass media. The goal is for students to be able to think critically about the role and status of media audiences in contemporary society, reflecting on their relative power in relation to institutional media producers.
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Critical Thinking, Thoughtful Writing, 6th ed. by John ChaffeeEmphasizing that thinking well and writing well are invariably connected, CRITICAL THINKING, THOUGHTFUL WRITING, 6e delivers thorough coverage of the writing process, going beyond the traditional rhetoric to teach you how to evaluate sources, images, and arguments. This rhetoric with readings introduces the process of thinking critically as a powerful approach to writing, to critically evaluating electronic and visual media, and to life in general. Each chapter focuses on a critical-thinking skill--such as problem solving or analysis of complex issues--that is explored through Thinking-Writing Activities and thematically linked readings. Each of the readings challenges you to read actively, think critically, and then write about the readings. The Sixth Edition offers provocative new readings, a four-color interior design, expanded writing projects that help you fully interact with the writing process, annotations to student essays, and more in-chapter questions to help you reflect on the material.